Albert, Coogan, Golombisky, Kirchner, Sullivan

Albert, Coogan, Golombisky, Kirchner, Sullivan


Beware The Penguin (mp3 128k) (mp3 320k) (Apple Lossless)
Turnstile Jumping
(mp3 128k) (mp3 320k) (Apple Lossless)
Bear Food
(mp3 128k) (mp3 320k) (Apple Lossless)
Don’t Smoke Drugs!
(mp3 128k) (mp3 320k) (Apple Lossless)

Jeff Albert – trombone
Tim Sullivan – tenor and baritone saxophone
Brian Coogan – keyboard and melodica
Matthew Golombisky – electric bass
Quin Kirchner – drums

Recorded February 4, 2007 at Audiophile Studio in New Orleans by Richard Bird. Mixed and mastered for web delivery by Jeff Albert.

Each piece is available for download as a 128k mp3 (small file size), a 320k mp3 (better sound and plays on anything, just about) or in Apple Lossless format (best sound, but stuck using iTunes). Please download which ever version(s) best suit(s) your needs.

“Beware The Penguin” is a regular theme/solos/theme style tune. Much of the rhythmic feel is left open to the moment. The harmonic progression is defined by the composition, and we stay pretty close to it.

“Turnstile Jumping” is an improvised episode that happened at the end of a take of a tune called “14th Street Station.” The take of “14th Street” was pretty weak, but our reaction to it was fun. I have saved you the nuisance of having to hear the whole weak take of the tune just to get to the good stuff.

“Bear Food” and “Don’t Smoke Drugs!” are both improvisations.

Enjoy the music and tell your friends.